Archive for August 10, 2007

Purpose in Life

This is the quote of the week that’s been flashing on the TV screens in our office building:

“When you discover your mission, you will feel its demand. You will be filled with enthusiasm and a burning desire to get to work on it.” -W. Clement Stone

Stone was a billionaire philanthropist who was able to reach his 100th birthday. Well, he had enough money to slow down time for his benefit. He was a Freemason, too.

Anyway, the quote got stuck in my head and had me analyze my situation at work. I can feel its demand, but the enthusiasm is missing. Granted, the objectives of the company I’m working for are actually purposeful. I don’t want to go into details, rest-assured the objectives are well-meant and for the betterment of a certain administration (haller, ano pang ibang administration meron?). But the desire to give my hundred percent is not there. Or maybe the bulk of work is still not apparent to me. I don’t know.

Siguro hindi ko pa nabibigyan ng pagkakataon ang sitwasyon ko ngayon. Kailangan ko munang paglaanan ng panahon, malay ko ba kung ito na pala ang calling ko sa buhay. Hindi ko rin malalaman kung hindi ko rin susubukan.

Malay mo nga naman. Dahil sa trabaho kong ito, saka ko madidiskubre kung ano ang layunin ko sa mundo: ang ipagsabuyan ko ang aking kagandahan sa pamamagitan ng pag-aartista.